Being Selfish

17 Mar

Today I’m doing things just for me.  Today I’m being a little selfish.

As you may remember, the hubs and I are trying to start a family.  It’s been harder than we thought it would be.  And we’ve been somewhat passive in our attempts to make things better.  But today I did something to help.  Today I joined Curves.

I cannot tell you how excited I am about this!  The hubs and I have tried joining a gym before.  It didn’t work.  We went a few times for a couple months, but then nothing.  It was hard for us to get into a routine and stick with it.  It was hard to go and feel judged by the other members and the staff.  And lets be honest, we’re lazy.  But last week I decided to set up a meeting at our local Curves and see what it’s all about and if it’d be a good fit.  I’m so excited to say it is a good fit!  I think I’m going to get so much out of it.  And the woman who runs it is great!  She’s supportive, informative, and is going to keep me on track.  And, damn it, if all the little old ladies who were there this morning can do it, so can I!

I’m also very excited about my afternoon plans.  Eric got me a gift certificate to a spa for our anniversary in October.  And I haven’t used it yet.  Well, this afternoon, 80 minutes of massage heaven will be enjoyed.  Again, I am so excited!

Am I being selfish?  Or am I taking good steps toward self-care?  Sometimes it feels like the line is a bit blurred.  I don’t get massages very often; I think the last one was over 2 years ago.  And starting to make a life change with Curves is something that will help me and my family for the rest of our lives.  Is that really being selfish?

Well, either way you look at it, the day is still about me!  And I’m ok with that. 🙂

One Response to “Being Selfish”

  1. Diane Terrones March 17, 2014 at 1:15 pm #

    Not selfish at all – it’s very good to take care of ourselves and a little pampering goes along way! Great gift from Eric! Enjoy the day and celebrate with some Irish fun too! I had a friend who really liked Curves , and always good to have someone accountable. Go for it – full steam ahead! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Jenny Noelle

Meditation Yoga Community

Little Nomadic Kitchen

www.facebook.com/littlenomadickitchen

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

the pastor and the puppy

the tales of a woman and her dog

I Need To Wash My Hands

Endless ramblings, stories, and thoughts about life as a nursing student.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Kendi Everyday

Just another WordPress.com site

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

