Bakers Dozen

4 Sep

I don’t think I’ve come to fully appreciate the time off I’ve had this summer until recently.  I’ve also started doing more with my days than watching HGTV and sleeping.  Not much more, but I’m working on it.

I love this time of summer!  Although it’s almost over, there’s still so much to enjoy!  Farmer’s markets are full of delicious fresh veggies and fruit.  The weather is perfect!  I’ll take 80 degrees and dry any day.  But I also love those wonderful Midwest thunderstorms that shake the house.  And it’s not so hot that you don’t want to turn on the oven.  I love turning on the oven!  It usually means I’m in the mood to bake or make dinner.  Over the past couple weeks we’ve had homemade chocolate cake with chocolate ganache, zucchini muffins, buttermilk roasted chicken, homemade onion rings, and others I can’t even remember right now!  I love to cook and bake!

All this cooking and baking has me thinking about other things I love – outdoor ministry, baking, cooking, quilting, crocheting, pinteresting, learning new crafts, going to school, reading – and how I can be more proactive in doing these things.  Then I started thinking about other things I need to do – lose weight, eat healthier, move ahead from everything thats happened this year, find a job.  And then I started thinking about lists. I love lists!  I love the satisfaction of crossing something off and then being able to throw the list away when I’m done with it.  So, here’s my list of things to do this fall.

1.  Lose 20 pounds by Thanksgiving (no, I won’t put it back on over the holidays!)

2.  Finish projects that are half done

3.  Start (and finish!) projects I have the materials for

4.  Eat more fruits and vegetables

5.  Read at lease one book every two weeks

6.  Try a new recipe once a week

7.  Start figuring out and making Christmas gifts.  I’ve decided it’s going to be a homemade Christmas this year.

8.  Apply for 5 jobs every two weeks.  I’m not ready to do just any job, so 5 every couple weeks seems manageable.

9.  See a doctor about my depression

10.  Blog at least twice a week

11.  Learn ways to cut back on our spending

12.  Get involved and stay active in our church

13.  Craft, craft, craft!

These are my Bakers Dozen for the fall, say September-November.  All things that are quite doable.  And will be done.

One Response to “Bakers Dozen”

  1. Jane C September 4, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    You can do anything that you put your mind to. Good luck on crossing off your list!!
    Jane

Leave a Reply

Jenny Noelle

Meditation Yoga Community

Little Nomadic Kitchen

www.facebook.com/littlenomadickitchen

Crafted in Carhartt

about women who do amazing things

the pastor and the puppy

the tales of a woman and her dog

I Need To Wash My Hands

Endless ramblings, stories, and thoughts about life as a nursing student.

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Kendi Everyday

Just another WordPress.com site

Design*Sponge

Your home for all things Design. Home Tours, DIY Project, City Guides, Shopping Guides, Before & Afters and much more

